All blogs · Quilts · Sewing

What a busy 20 weeks

Thisisit…. My plan was to write a weekly blog on my summersampler2016 quilt. A block a week for 20 weeks.  I did the first week which was great.  The summpersampler2016 (by Freshly pieced  and friends) has now finished and it is time for everyone to start putting their blocks together.

Even though I failed to do a blog a week, I did miraculously manage to keep up with the block a week..  I was so  impressed with the whole process, I would definitely do another one..  I enjoyed the whole experience and the journey that it took me on.  Firstly I have never looked so forward to Monday mornings in  my life which lasted for the whole 20 weeks!!

my quilting experience had up until now been self taught and you tube videos, but to have a pattern to follow and learning new skills was great.  The group had an instagram and Facebook page, which was so helpful and I cant believe how much encouragement I received  from everyone as well as giving.  it was lovely to see everyone’s variations on each block and how by changing the colour placement it could drastically change the block.

I will admit I became obsessed and when I saw friends and family the conversation would always include “I’m doing a block a week you know,  yes it’s the summersampler”.  I genuinely think people got fed up, but I really didn’t care.

The picture below shows the completed 20, I initially wasn’t sure about the pink (and to be honest am still not sure), but I do feel that on the whole it does bring a good deal of colour to the quilt.

summer-sampler

Last night I decided on the final sashing look. a 3″ wide piece of white sashing.  once I had sewed them on, I then thought I have made a mistake with the colour as quite a few of the blocks have a white edging.  however, I continued and when I put them together I was truly surprised by the look.

norway-quiltWhilst doing this quilt I also had another 2 quilts on the go a  Norway Quilt (by thimbleblossoms) for my Auntie, which has now been sewn together and am waiting for a free weekend to be able to baste it.  it’s my largest one yet.  the second one was a Thomas the Tank Engine Quilt which is now living in Scotland.

 

thomas-the-tank

Apart from this my life has been busy with my 2 daughters, 11 and 13 and the trials of them growing up and me being a worried parent, but that is another story.  for now…..thisisit

 

Leave a comment